BOLO 2010

I finally, finally, booked a place for Blog Out Loud! It’s Irene’s Pub, located at 885 Bank Street (just north of Landsdowne Park, on the East side of Bank).

Mark your calendars for Wednesday, July 7, 2010. 7 p.m. to 10 p.m. You’ll be able to get a nice dinner at Irene’s, if you like, or just grab a drink, kick back, and listen to some awesome bloggers read their stuff out loud.

As with last year, photo bloggers are also invited to display their lovely creations.

Now, who wants to read?

I have no idea what to expect in terms of readers this year. Last year I had to cajole a few people into it just so I felt like I had a good cross section of writers. This year it could be the same, or perhaps, word has spread like wildfire that BOLO KICKS ASS, and there will be dozens and dozens of readers coming out. Oh, stop that snickering. It COULD HAPPEN.

So I just wanted to give a few guidelines up front so everyone knows where my head is at and what is going on. First of all, we can definitely accommodate at least 18 readers, so if we get 18 or fewer people interested in reading, then HUZZAH, my work is done.

If many more people than that come out, though, we’ll have to see. I would really, really love it if everyone who was interested in reading could read. However, there’s no way we can have, say, 50 readers and still keep it to one evening.

It’s probably not a real concern at all. But just in case, I’m going to set out some suggestions for potential readers:

  • you should read something you wrote and posted on your blog.
  • it should ideally be something from the past year (June 2009 to June 2010), since I started this thing so bloggers could reflect what kinds of writing readers might find on their blogs today.
  • you should be able to read it out loud in about three minutes (but this is quite flexible, I’ll let you know if I think it’s really too long)
  • I’d love to get your link/submission by Wednesday, June 23. If you’d like to read but still aren’t sure what, at least let put your name out there so I know you’re circling the fences.

If worst comes to worst and we can’t accommodate all interested readers…well, I’m hoping it won’t come to that, so I’ll figure that out when the time comes.

In the meantime, if you’re up for it, let me know! You can email me your link at lynnturtlehead@gmail.com, or leave a comment here.

3 Responses to “BOLO 2010”


  1. 1 Kimusan April 28, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Yaaagh! Cannot approve more of the location (I LOVE DIVES!). Cannot wait.

  2. 2 RealGrouchy April 30, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    You scheduled it during Bluesfest? Well, I’m out. That sucks.

    Hope it’s half as fun as last year!

    – RG>

    • 3 Lynn April 30, 2010 at 6:07 pm

      Hmmmmm…I had no idea this was during Bluesfest — never been myself. I had a hard time finding a good place and date for the event so for now I will leave it…but if I get a lot of bad feedback on this issue I’ll reconsider.


Leave a Reply

BLOG OUT LOUD 2011
WHERE: The Prescott, 379 Preston Street, at Preston and Beech
WHEN: Thursday, July 7, 2011 from 7pm to 10pm
WHO: 20+ bloggers reading their favourite post from the past year; plus several photo bloggers displaying their art
WHO'S INVITED: Anyone who likes to hear good writing -- entry is free!
CONTACT: lynnturtlehead@gmail.com

